Dear Members of European Hip Society, dear friends,

During the III European Joint Meeting in Madrid, the EHS & SECCA (Sociedad Española de Cirugía de Cadera) organised a combined scientific session (EHS Co-Organised). It was the first face to face event after the pandemic. Speakers from both the European Hip Society (Fares Hadddad, UK Nat Rep; George Macheras, Greece Nat Rep; Luigi Zagra, SciCom Chairman), and the Spanish Hip Society (Ricardo Terré, President; Jorge Albareda, Vice-President; Fernando Marqués, ExCom; and Basilio de la Torre) presented and discussed different topics and clinical cases related to new technologies in total hip replacement.  The meeting was a great success in terms of scientific content and friendship.

During the meeting we had the opportunity to discuss the current situation in Ukraine. As you know our Ukrainian colleagues have been supporting our society for many years and recently we rewarded them by electing Prof Stanislav Bodarenko as our EHS Secretary General. We also elected a member of the EduCom from Ukraine, Dr Olga Pidgaiska and have had two EHS Fellows in 2016 & 2017.

Prof George Macheras gave a short presentation during our meeting, showing previous moments of our visits to Kharkiv in 2019 and 2021, for the EHS-organised conference at the Sytenko Institute, as well as other visits related to Ukrainian hip surgeons. Ukraine was the 10th most popular attendee at our EHS Congress in Lille worldwide. All of us are very much shocked by the images from Ukraine and took a unanimous decision to send a letter calling for peace.  We look forward to the end of this nightmare.

All the best,

Eduardo García-Rey, EHS EduCom and SECCA Secretary General

For more info on the EHS-organised Kharkiv course in October 2021, click HERE.

Read the EHS letter calling for peace in Ukraine

Programme summary




Moderators: George Macheras, Enrique Gómez Barrena

Speakers: Luigi Zagra, Eduardo García Rey, Fares Haddad, Fernando Marqués

Moderators: George Macheras and Eduardo García Rey

Speakers: Ricardo Terré, Jorge Albareda, Eduardo García Rey, Enrique Gómez Barrena, George Macheras